The Tony Drinan Award

Year AwardedNameAlumni YearContribution
2023Mr John Peers2006Australian Tennis
2022Mr Peter Royston1967 Law and The Law Institute
2021Dr A G (Tony) Collins 1966Education
2020Mr Steven Warrington AFSM 1978Country Fire Authority (CFA)
2019Mr John Firth 1969Contribution to Education and Curriculum
2018Mr Robert Nottle CBE 1960International Financial Services
2017Sir Robert Jackson AC KCVO CMG OBE (Deceased)1928Former UN Under Secretary General
2016Professor Tim Brailsford 1981Vice-Chancellor and President of Bond University
2015The Hon. Associate Justice Nemeer Mukhtar 1975Supreme Court, Victoria
2014Mr James Riady 1974International Business and philanthropic support for education
2013Mr Shane Warne (Deceased)1987Australian Cricket & Founder of The Shane Warne Foundation
2012Associate Professor Andre La Gerche 1991Medical Research in the field of Cardiology
2011Colonel Andrew Hocking 1989Australian Defence Forces
2010 Mr Adam Kilgour 1982Australian Business & Politics
2009Mr Mal Walden 1961 Broadcasting and Television
2008Mr Phillip Hutson 1971Australian Federal Police
2007Mr Geoff Ryan AM 1965Education
2006Associate Professor Michael Woodward 1971Specialist in Geriatric Medicine
2005Emeritus Professor Don Gartside 1964Environmental Science and Management
2004Don Ingram OAM 1955Education
2003The Very Rev. Dr John Shepherd AM 1959Anglican Dean of Perth
2002Ret Brig J Deighton A.M., M.C. 1952Australian Defence Forces - Retired CEO Victorian RSL HQ
2001Professor Glenn Bowes AO 1966Medicine, Specialist in Paediatrics

Tony Drinan Medal Awardee 2023

John Peers’ talent was quickly recognised at Mentone Grammar becoming a member of the 2001 AGSV tennis premiership team at the tender age of 11. He continued to play in the Firsts teams until Year 12 which saw five out of a
possible six tennis premierships during that time.

John’s professional career highlights include Grand Slam triumphs at the
2017 Australian Open (men’s doubles) and 2022 US Open (mixed doubles),
a bronze medal at the Tokyo Olympics in 2021 (mixed doubles), regular Davis Cup appearances for Australia, and being named as the 2022 Victorian Player of the Year.